Question for the pros

• graz187
      graz187
      Bronze
      My question is how long did it take for you to become a pro after taking the game seriously?

I guess a number of hands would be the most accurate but time length is valuable as well. Im sure some of you shot up really quickly and I am sure some of you won a big tournament early on that really helped your bankroll.

But how long did it take the rest of the pros out there to get to a level where they didnt rely on anything but poker for income? Ive been playing for a little more than two years but have probably logged in only 150k hands in that time. That being said im thinking it may be time to give up the dream
  • 10 replies
    • Rihard4a
      Rihard4a
      Gold
      150k hands in two years is very, very, very... (you get the idea) small experience.

Last year I played 700k+ hands I am still learning to become a pro and I don't give up. I know that after I clock in another 700k I will be printing money.

I do coaching, I study, I play, I make mistakes, I evaluate. This is what you need to become what you truly desire.

You have to stop thinking that becoming a poker pro is a dream, while it is a dream you will never reach it. Make your dream into a goal and you will be there!
    • graz187
      graz187
      Bronze
      its tough to do with two kids,a wife, and Asian time zones but i realize it isnt much.
      So you are targeting two years in the minors, sort of speak? Any current pros care to share their timeframe
    • jawoftheox
      jawoftheox
      Bronze
      150k hands and giving up? I played 150k in my first two months. So you are giving up what? It seems that you haven't even started. I mean if you want to become pro, you just go for it and you don't stop.
      I want to play poker for living.I think I will make it within two years for a modest life for sure and I'm going for it.