This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

Is this all-in illegal?

    • bendanish
      bendanish
      Basic
      Joined: 22.05.2012 Posts: 5
      I encountered this situation last night at a Texas Hold'em no-limit freezout tournament last night.

      UTG bets 2 BBs.
      UTG+1 goes all in with 2.1 BBs.
      Button call the all-in of 2.1 BBs.

      UTG then goes all-in instead of just calling the remaing 0.1 BB. Claims that a player can go all-in even to a less-than-minimum raise. That essentially a player has always the option of going all-in in a no-limit game.

      It seems that UTG is not allowed to raise it to 6BBs but he can go all-in, even if he has 60 BBs. Is that correct? Does it make sense?

      Thanks in advance for the input.
  • 2 replies
    • ThatGuyMatt
      ThatGuyMatt
      Bronze
      Joined: 03.12.2010 Posts: 3,765
      UTG+1 hasn't made the bet large enough to re-open the betting for UTG. The button player or anyone else after them can raise as much as they please, if they do, then to betting would then be re-opened for UTG.

      The raise needs to be the difference between the last bet, if this doesn't happen then it's treated as a call.

      This is how it's happened every time I play :)

      Where was this? Online, Casino, Home Game?

      I found some rules from the GUKPT

      "“Under raises” are ONLY permitted if a player is going all in-

      Note: All in under raises do not reactivate the betting for players who have already acted"
    • bendanish
      bendanish
      Basic
      Joined: 22.05.2012 Posts: 5
      Thanks for the link and the clarification.

      It was a home game and was solved without angry words!