gavinonymous' blog of micro tourney success..

• gavinonymous
      gavinonymous
      Bronze
      ..and failures. I took 3 months off poker and came back this month thanks to a random stake from an old friend.

the story so far. I've played poker for 770 days of my life over several years. started with SNG's, and moved to cash, then to multitable tourneys. I like PLO and other variants too.

I'm a musician and chemist, and spent much of the winter hibernating in Canada and writing playing music.. that's what led to the staking one drunken night when a friend asked me if I was any good..

I got $500, and went right to the $3.50 45 mans for some decent immediate success. Spent a lot of time reviewing games and I still make mistakes, but then sometimes it's hard to know what a mistake is - the 45 man structure does have some quirky bubble structure with 2 tables left where it's not strictly cEV, and preserving your stack means more than taking out the small guys even if you are giving up +EV spots. I put it down to edge (short term pain, long term gain)

Slowly I'm finding my game. I've played one month and already going through some mental challenges. I did really well the first half only to lose all profits within a few days and then some. Staying focused was tough, but I visualized my goal, and where I want to be, and slowly it's coming around again. I think I rode the variance alright - even if it did result in a chat ban, that might have been the best thing for my game.

Also I upped the tables to <18 more than I usually do and it's going better. for the last 4 days I've won back all the profits and more playing stacked tables.

I have been taking more 1sts than 2nds which is one of my main goals this year. So much of my ROI comes from that heads up that can be overlooked.