Need an Advice for 500$ deposit to Start

• RawadN
      Lately I decided to deposit 500$ to play poker.
      My plan is double up the 500$ to 1000$ in a period of 1 month.
      I know you'd win this money in a shorter time but it because i want to be safe.
      I am not a beginner at all but i am not professionnel.
      my question is:
      which game do u think i have to reach my goal
      thank you
  • 6 replies
    • Harrier88
      Do you mean what format of poker you should play, or what limit?

If it's about the format, I guess it doesn't really matter, because every format can potentially be played profitably. MTTs are difficult to grind, though, so maybe they wouldn't be a great choice. I'd personally recommend cash games, because they have a lower variance than most other formats.

If it's about the limit, then you just have to play the limit you're rolled for, and there's no way around it, no matter what you plan to achieve. That means that you should play NL10 at the moment, assuming you're a cash game player.

Also, doubling up an initial deposit of $500 in only a month is a quite ambitious goal. Are you sure you're up to it? What are your long-term goals?
    • VorpalF2F
      Super Moderator
      Super Moderator
      Originally posted by RawadN
      Lately I decided to deposit 500$ to play poker.
      My plan is double up the 500$ to 1000$ in a period of 1 month.

my question is:
      which game do u think i have to reach my goal
      thank you
      Hi, RawadN...
      The problem is that you cannot "plan" to win anything.
      With your $500 you have only 20 Buy-ins for NL 25 cash.

Nice, but do you have the SKILL to win at that limit?

I would suggest that you practice sound bankroll management.
      Have a look at the paragraph heading "Realistic expectation of Profit" in this article:

In this article, read the section on "Bankroll Management"