Poker, fitness, university and investing - A student’s blog

• vetani
      vetani
      Bronze
      Welcome to my blog!

It's actually my second blog here on this site. The first one died a little over a year ago. Poker-wise, not much has changed.

Well, actually nothing has changed.

Bankroll still ~$350, still playing the 3.5 Turbo Knockouts on Stars. Total volume since last blog update... I'm guessing less than 100 games. So yeah, time to change that!

I have however been constistenly visiting the gym for the last year and a half, so much that I decided to dedicate a part of my blog to it. Nothing special, just keeping you updated on personal records and such.

I'm in my third year now, and have one more year left to get my Bachelor of Science (had to take another year cause of me slacking last year, yay procrastination!). This means I have loads of spare time, as I'm spreading my third year over two years. I worked full-time from December till now, earning a, for me, impressive total of ~8k.

Having access to such an amount of cash has led me looking for ways to continue making money. Whilst poker is an obvious choice, I’ve also gotten quite interested in investing. After reading some more information on investing, I realized I’m not even remotely able to “beat the market”. After reading “A Bogleheads guide to investing”, I decided to take that route. Low costs, index tracking ETFs, in it for the long haul.

Money I invest will be considered spend. No selling shares to buy something I like (I used to withdraw money from my savings account for this reason, blegh).

As I have to get back to classes in a couple of days, I decided to start blogging again, to keep me accountable for these aspects of my life. Feel free to berate me if I don’t put in any volume, or slack at the gym, or even if you just feel like it!
  • 11 replies
    • vetani
      vetani
      Bronze
      April Goals

Poker
      - Play 400 games

Fitness
      - Bench press 8 x 100kg