A very lengthy introduction to me and my goals

• P00kbettor
      P00kbettor
      Bronze
      Hello, fellow poker players. My name is Bas Groeneveld and I’m a student and avid poker player. My interest in poker started when I had my very first home game, against two total nits that would have been gutted at nl2. Of course, I knocked them out with my newly acquired superior skills and insight in the game. ;) I was 17 years old at the time, almost turning 18. Because I was so blatantly enthusiastic about poker, I already created an account on a network called ‘Everest Poker’.

I remember I set the alarm at 07:00 to play the nosebleed-limits of $0.00. Yes, there was actually a game called ‘Shasta’, with a payout of $0.08. I’m not sure if it’s still there because Everest Poker got involved with iPoker, the massive network that kinda ruins everything. Still, those days created a burning feeling in my heart that screamed to me that I needed to play. :baby:

I learned a lot there. There were hardly any serious players at Shasta, but still, I noticed how everyone was bleeding their chips into oblivion. Just to improve my game I decided to read some poker material, and quickly got to the concept of ‘limping’. And yes sir, I got rid of the limping addiction, and learned some basic things about post-flop play.

It wasn’t a big surprise that I soon reached the milestone of $1, and with that I started playing with real money. Well, that wasn’t the best idea ever. I already lost $0.10 from just blinds and a limp, and that was 10% of my bankroll. I remembered reading “Never sit on a table with more than 1% of your bankroll” but my greed took over. The first bigger pot seemed to go my way, till someone hit a flush draw. My two pairs were shattered and abused by a vicious shark, and my bankroll stated $0.00 again. Sad but true, I still grief when I think about it.