steps to becoming better

• hardkandy
      hardkandy
      Basic
      Hey guys this is my first post here and I know this question has probably been asked allot however when I search for the specific answers I can never find it..

I've been playing poker on and off for about 2 years.. Never really taking it to seriously. I have done my fair share of losing more than winning due to becoming impatient or distracted which then makes me do stupid stuff.. I didn't really care to much cause $20 here and there was the price I paid for a few weeks of entertainment.

I have now decided to change my tune.. And not play for the thrill of money.. But to perfect my playing style.. Which in turn will reap rewards on its own merit. I have bought poker tracker 4 to evaluate what I'm doing wrong.. Started memorizing hands.. Taken a look at ev.. And Sussed out a few books to buy... (Still not sure which?).. And done a heap of online reading..

The question I want to ask is what order if there is any should I be studying this stuff in.. What should I be focusing on the most... What things in particular will help me to advance my knowledge, calculate effectively and ultimately show advancement.. Reading and watching videos seems very scattered I want to focus on one thing at a time if that's possible.. I'm not asking to be great overnight.. I know the work must be done.. But I am asking for all the street signs that tell me which direction I should be facing :P ..

FYI I only play online as my location allows for nothing else.. Any help would be fantastic.. Cheers!!
  • 6 replies
    • Harrier88
      Harrier88
      Bronze
      Welcome to the forum, hardkandy! :s_grin: