18mans vs 180mans, which one to pick?

• ramabranch
      ramabranch
      Bronze
      Hey there!

First of all let me tell you a little bit of myself:

I play online since 2012. I started playing with an argentinian stake group (Im uruguayan) last year and stayed there for sevenish months. The guys trained me mostly on 18mans although we throw some HH review of 180 and 45 mans sits from time to time.

Altough I was trained by them for some time and then on my own with some ICM software I find I cant beat the games, I made roughly 1k on 10k games which is pretty poor considering all the effort and time I put into the study of 18mans.

Now after some time playing on my own Im trying to get a new stacking+coaching deal and after looking for some 18man deals I found out that it was way easier to get 180mans deals for some unknown (to me) reasons.

Altough I like the idea of playing 180mans since is closer to MTT game which I love and want to specialize in the future, I feel that it would be a loss of time and efforts to move on to another kind of game when I have not beaten the one I started studying. Nevertheless, Ive been reading and found out that 180mans seem to be more profitable.

So here come a few questions:

What should I take into consideration when picking one game or the other? Why some stackers wont bank 18man players saying its not very profitable? Are there more regs on 18 mans or 180 mans? Is 180man variance as high as it seems? Or since the field is so big you jump into some more :f_biggrin: that make it more bareable?

Replies from regs of both games is highly appreciated!

Rama
  • 4 replies
    • kukkakeppi
      kukkakeppi
      Bronze
      I think the 180-mans have lots of fish in them, which makes them relatively easy I think (at least in the micro stakes there aren't many good players in them).