This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

Is it profitable to call opponent without full stack here?

  • 5 replies
    • mesisification
      mesisification
      Bronze
      Joined: 05.08.2011 Posts: 1,465
      Yeah, definitely a call. We have a flushdraw and a gutshot AND our A outs might be alive aswell.

      It is a call even vs. full stack I believe
    • VorpalF2F
      VorpalF2F
      Super Moderator
      Super Moderator
      Joined: 02.09.2010 Posts: 10,502
      Originally posted by wolfbone
      i wonder is it profitable to call opponent without full stack here?
      http://www.pokerhandreplays.com/view.php/id/5957442
      what about when hi is with a full stack?
      Hi wolfbone...
      Welcome to the forums!

      Do you have equilab?
      If not it is well worth getting.

      What range do you put him on?
      If we arbitrarily pick a range where he has a J and an equal volume of air, you are slightly ahead according to Equilab:


      Board: 3:diamond: J:spade: 4:spade:
             Equity     Win     Tie
      MP2    59.72%  59.67%   0.04% { A2s }
      MP3    40.28%  40.24%   0.04% { JJ, AJs, KJs-K5s, QJs, J2s+, T8s-T4s, AJo, KJo, K9o-K4o, QJo, Q9o-Q5o, J2o+, T5o+ }


      So even under those artificially good conditions you're flipping for half a stack.
      (I just picked cards -- I didn't really analyse what I thought a short stack would have here)

      If you think he has a pair or better, then you don't have the pot odds to call.
      There are no implied odds, since all the money is in already.

      Disclaimer: I am NOT a coach!

      Best of luck,
      --VS
    • wolfbone
      wolfbone
      Bronze
      Joined: 10.11.2011 Posts: 3
      Hi,
      thx for the great answer and telling about Equilab.
      Now i see the missed part of the puzzle.
    • CreamyGoodness
      CreamyGoodness
      Bronze
      Joined: 18.10.2010 Posts: 229
      I dont understand. Surely this is an automatic call? I would call in this spot every time.

      Hero has 12 clean outs, possible as many as 15 outs (in fact he did have 15 outs). So he's got 40% equity minimum, possibly more than 50%.

      He is receiving 1.5-1 pot odds, and is basically flipping.

      +EV call, no?
    • CreamyGoodness
      CreamyGoodness
      Bronze
      Joined: 18.10.2010 Posts: 229
      I don't really like the preflop raise though, not at these stakes.

      A2s is difficult to play postflop, and out of position we are happy to take a free flop. It's not really a big deal, and other than that, you played the hand fine.