Questions, questions, questions!

• Jamie29h
      Hi guys,

Having just posted for the first time after lurking the forum for YEARS, it looks like I've broken the seal.

I am learning to play and hopefully eventually beat NL2 before moving up the micros. At the moment my goal is to learn how to think a hand through logically and generally try to cut down on those moments where I have no idea what to do in a hand.

There's been a few questions going round my head that I haven't found solid information on and would love for the experts to make it a little bit clearer for me.

Let's get started shall we?

1. I currently play on PokerStars, I really like the software and am comfortable learning there, but haven't really tried many other poker rooms so it's more out of habit than anything. At this stage in my game, should I be looking for the fishiest rooms/best rake deals/bonuses, or is the difference negligible while I am still learning?

2. Touching on the subject of rake, is there a clear bb/100 that I need to be making to beat the rake on PokerStars at NL2? I hear a rate of 4bb/100 is excellent but also hear that rake on those stakes can as high if not higher than that, would that not make you a losing player even when performing really well? (I clearly don't understand rake very well at this stage.)

3. I play FR but am always intrigued by the 6-max games. I hear there are more fish at play and more winning potential. I have been reading strategies and reading books like 'Crushing the Microstakes' by BlackRain79 which are generally geared towards FR games, and when I dip my toes into 6-max it just feels too fast paced and out of my depth... What's the best way to go from FR to 6 max and should I just wait until I improve my game at FR before even considering moving on?