Winning Poker Blueprint

• glenlivet83
      glenlivet83
      Bronze
      Hi All

I'm new to looking through forums, joining groups etc. I know that there is no 'Blueprint' to winning. There are so many different variables to consider when playing.

Does anyone have routine that they go through before making a decision or play during a hand?

For example: If considering a check raise on the flop or calling the river. Would you automatically look at his pfr + c bet flop or fold to CR on flop stats etc.

I know this may be a tough question because of the differing situations/variables.

In tough spots (when I don't know where I am in the hand) I don't know what to look at or do. I have no routine and I sometimes (often :) get flustered and make a mistake

Thanks
  • 4 replies
    • Harrier88
      Harrier88
      Bronze
      Welcome to the forums, glenlivet! :f_grin:

It's true that there are a lot of variables involved in NL and there is often no single "right" way to play.

If you have stats on your opponent, it can never hurt to check them out before you make a decision, as it gives you some info about which type of opponent you're facing and what to look out for. A check-raise, for example, is a relatively fancy move that requires some knowledge about your opponent (namely that your opponent likes to make c-bets on the flop). About calls on the river, you'll find this article useful. Having stats can help you put your opponent on a range in this case, but getting information from his former actions is even more important.

Also, please note that a part of a successful poker strategy is to avoid getting into too many tough spots in the first place. This is why you want to play in position when possible, avoid easily dominated hands, and avoid giving away free cards on a draw-heavy board, among others. A lot of this comes with experience.
    • VorpalF2F
      VorpalF2F
      Super Moderator
      Super Moderator
      Originally posted by glenlivet83