is it just me

• billnmex
      billnmex
      Bronze
      I am fairly new to on line poker and I understand that with the volume of hands there is a huge variance but I played a $0.55 poker stars tourny and was dealt 82 hands without an ace or face card. How is this possible? I am not complaining just baffled.
  • 19 replies
    • PerusJamppa
      PerusJamppa
      Bronze
      Because cards are dealt randomly it's very likely that at some point something very unlikely is going to happen. ;)
    • andiofwbafc
      andiofwbafc
      Bronze
      Originally posted by billnmex
      I am fairly new to on line poker and I understand that with the volume of hands there is a huge variance but I played a $0.55 poker stars tourny and was dealt 82 hands without an ace or face card. How is this possible? I am not complaining just baffled.
      82 hands without seeing an Ace, K, Q or J.

The odds on that must be astonomical :D
    • TinoLaan
      TinoLaan
      Bronze
      Originally posted by PerusJamppa
      Because cards are dealt randomly it's very likely that at some point something very unlikely is going to happen. ;)
      This is very true! :D

And yes, the odds of not seeing an A, K, Q or J 82 hands in a row are ridiculous. About 53% of hands have at least one A, K, Q or J. So yeah, your chances of not seeing one 82 times in a row is approximately 0.47^82 = lol

But that's poker and very unlikely things do indeed happen quite often :)
    • Lazza61
      Lazza61
      Headadmin
      Headadmin
      Originally posted by TinoLaan

But that's poker and very unlikely things do indeed happen quite often :)
      Lol. Most players can tell stories of the most ridiculously unlikely things happening :facepalm:
    • RakeVictim
      RakeVictim
      Basic
      [ ] OP doesnt dealt A, K, Q or J in 82
    • Paakjis
      Paakjis
      Bronze
      It's more possbile to be dealt royal flush for several times :/
    • billnmex
      billnmex
      Bronze