Clearer Thinking in Poker: Casy151's Blog

• casy151
      casy151
      Basic
      Hi folks,

I blog regularly at various sites, and write strategy articles and features for some poker magazines.

A bit of background: I am a former pro SNG grinder, with a long-standing obsession with the kind of mental-game leaks that plague poker players.

After completing a Masters degree in Sport Psychology, my focus shifted to coaching and writing. I make strategy vids for Drag the Bar, and am working on a Sports Betting strategy site in addition to poker.

This blog will hopefully provide a good, thought-provoking free resource for Pokerstrategy community members.

All comments will be read and replied to.

*On Wednesday 6 August, I will be guesting on Collin Moshman's SNG webinar. Viewers will be able to watch me grind out a short session of SNGs, while Collin interviews me about some of the topics that my coaching covers:

http://christykeenan.com/2014/08/05/live-free-coaching-session-collin-moshman-pokerstrategy-com/
  • 15 replies
    • casy151
      casy151
      Basic
      Staying on pace to hit long-term volume goals need not be a painful slog. I propose one adjustment that will revolutionise your approach. To do so, let me introduce you to Holly…

Volume. Turnover. Grinding. Call it what you like; the reality remains the same. The more Holly plays, the more she earns. Simple, right?

Indeed it is – at least in principle. However, the theory is all well and good, but it doesn’t necessary feel straightforward when Holly’s chips are being pushed towards her opponents for hours on end. It is thoroughly dis-spiriting.

She approached me looking for some advice as she knuckled down for her first year as a professional grinder. Reaching 2x Supernova was her goal– an ambitious, but certainly achievable, target for somebody who grinds the low-mid stakes SNGs.

However, she was being held back by an inability to pace herself.