Math in Poker

• Ascension9000
      Ascension9000
      Basic
      I'm very new to poker, and I'm sure this question has been asked thousands of times in one form or another, but how important is math in poker? I only ask because I'm considering taking college courses next semester, and I'm thinking I'll be able to refine my skills more with specific subjects.

Based on my rather primitive understanding of poker, here is the main observation I have made:

Math plays a HUGE part. However, it doesn't seem like you have to be a mathematician to be a pro poker player. It seems like a lot of it has to do with understanding the probability of winning with a certain hand, when to fold, when to raise, and when to bet. But all that seems to stem more from poker experience and rote memorization rather than poring through calculus books.

So where do I stand here? Am I kind of right, or am I dead wrong? Or maybe somewhere in between. I only ask because I want to become as good as possible at poker as quickly as possible, and I'd like to know what subjects will be beneficial, and what other ones would be a complete waste of time.

Thanks
  • 12 replies
    • metza
      metza
      Bronze
      I feel like it might not be the best idea to do college papers just to improve your poker. Papers are expensive to take so far better $ value to just hire a coach.
    • patuxz
      patuxz
      Diamond
      Basically every decision you do has to deal with math somehow.
      What i would note is that, there's no complex math involved. Sometimes you have to solve some simple equations, but nothing more complex.
      When i review my sessions i sometimes have like 10 windows calculators open.
      So you don't have to be a math genius. What's more important is to know & use basic math to it's full extent. Equity & pot odds & combos (combinatorics). Pot odds as caller and bettor. It's easy to learn, but it might take long time to master these, but this is how it's done.