This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

Splitting the pot

    • hooley01
      Joined: 25.09.2011 Posts: 48
      Beginner question, can someone explain the rules as to how the pot is split like in this hand?
      Short stack has best hand, takes his share of pot. but why do i get almost my whole stack back and mp2 gets nothing?

      thanks in advance,

      Poker Stars, $0.05/$0.10 No Limit Hold'em Cash, 8 Players
      Poker Tools Powered By Holdem Manager - The Ultimate Poker Software Suite.

      SB: $11.99 (119.9 bb)
      BB: $10 (100 bb)
      UTG+2: $4.84 (48.4 bb)
      MP1: $5.08 (50.8 bb)
      MP2: $10 (100 bb)
      MP3: $10 (100 bb)
      CO: $11.72 (117.2 bb)
      Hero (BTN): $10 (100 bb)

      Preflop: Hero is BTN with 8 8
      UTG+2 folds, MP1 raises to $0.30, MP2 calls $0.30, 2 folds, Hero calls $0.30, 2 folds

      Flop: ($1.05) J A 8 (3 players)
      MP1 checks, MP2 checks, Hero checks

      Turn: ($1.05) 7 (3 players)
      MP1 bets $0.50, MP2 raises to $1, Hero calls $1, MP1 raises to $4.78 and is all-in, MP2 calls $3.78, Hero raises to $9.70 and is all-in, MP2 calls $4.92 and is all-in

      River: ($25.23) 6 (3 players, 3 are all-in)

      $25.23 pot ($1.14 rake)
      Final Board: J A 8 7 6
      MP1 showed A A and won $14.70 ($9.62 net)
      MP2 showed 7 7 and lost (-$10 net)
      Hero showed 8 8 and won $9.39 (-$0.61 net)
  • 3 replies
    • Harrier88
      Joined: 01.05.2012 Posts: 2,168
      Hi hooley01,

      You can only win as much as you bet (from each player). The rest of the money will go into a sidepot, which is won by the player with the second best hand if there are more than two players involved. If there is still money left in the pot after that, the rest of it will be won by the player with the third best hand and so on, though these situations are quite rare.

      In this example, after MP1 got his share of the pot, there was still a sidepot of $9.39 (after rake), which was won by you since your hand beat MP2's and you had him completely covered.

      Hope that makes sense.
    • hooley01
      Joined: 25.09.2011 Posts: 48
      Thanks for clearing that up harrier, I always assumed that if you had the winner covered the sidepot was returned! Cant believe i didnt know?!
      Thanks again!
    • andiofwbafc
      Joined: 01.05.2012 Posts: 397
      Only commenting to say what a sick hand that is, 3 sets :D