For fun. And a few bucks.

• mishkagg
      mishkagg
      Bronze
      Yo!
      I decided to start playing cards again. Yay! So what, you might ask?
      Nothing, really. Just that now I feel like I have the proper state of mind to do it.
      Long story short, I will be playing 1 table sng on PokerStars and FTP. This is the format I've had the greatest success on. I remember I had around 6.5% ROI after 2300 turbo games played on the $2+0.2 and $6+0.5 games on FTP back in the day. Anyway, those money weren't enough to support myself then. I switched my job and became full time veterinarian. I gave it some thought and decided to switch the games too. I started playing cash games. It was just not fun. I had no fun memorizing ranges, I had no fun actually playing on the tables. I had some degree of success as I was able to reach NL50 rush back then. But it was just mechanical, it felt like a labor, nor like a hobby. So I cashed around $1300 out and I quit the game.
      For a hobby I played starcraft 2 for a few months. If you are familiar with it's ladder, I reached high to mid diamond level in 2 seasons, this is like a mediocre skill level, nothing really special. I saw that if I pushed myself, if I play like 2-3 hours per day I could reach master level. I decided against it, again because the game wasn't fun. Brood war was like 100 times more addictive and challenging to play. As far as I am concerned, SC2 is not up to its standards.
      From a few weeks I've been wondering what to do with the time on my hands. I downloaded the PokerStars.com client (I still got like $300 there) and I rolled a few SNGs. And, WOW! It's actually fun again. My motivation on quitting sngs was to be able to still play the game and not have to leave the SNG tables when a customer comes in. Little did I know that it would kill my pleasure.