Play money vs. Real money

• Calron
      Calron
      Bronze
      Hi everyone. I've been playing poker on the free tables for a few months now, however I never played with a strategy. I want to try out the ideas presented in the well written articles on the website, but where should I start?

Is it appropriate to try these strategies with play money or do they only apply to the cash tables. I'm reluctant to play cash games right now as I'm not an experienced player.

Any advice?
  • 5 replies
    • slikec
      slikec
      Global
      Sure those strategies will work also on play money tables;) Actually even more but you'll see more suck outs to ;)
      Anyway is really easy to gather chips with those strategies on play money tables :D
    • cannell555
      cannell555
      Bronze
      Hi Calron,

Welcome to PokerStrategy!

The play chip tables are only good for 3 things:

1: Configuring a HUD
      2: Learning the absolute basics, (I mean the really basic stuff)
      3: Letting off steam, when extremely wound up

You wont learn much from playing for play chips. When you loose you shrug it off and reload. Also the strategy's are pretty useless on these tables, as people play pretty much any 2 cards.

If you start playing the micro cash tables, you will want to learn from your mistakes. Therefore you will learn a hell of alot faster. When you start playing the cash tables, you have no experiance whatsoever. As you've never played real poker before. Knowone gets experiance with the play chips.

My advise would be;

to start using the given strategy's on the lowest limits, using good bankroll management.
      watch the videos
      visit coachings
      Review your every session
      Post hands on the sample hands forums
      LEARN FROM YOUR MISTAKES

Best regards,
      Stiev
    • stantos
      stantos
      Bronze
      Truthfully from my experience, play money does not help at all.