Need Advice Dealing with Extended Stretches of Bad Luck

• Getzzzz
      Getzzzz
      Basic
      I've been a fairly profitable player since I started playing poker roughly 10 years ago but over the last few months my luck has been worse than ever. Just to get a better look at things I've been documenting results (flip outcomes, bad beats, etc.) and the results have been staggering. Over the last month I've won 28% of flips and lost to more 1-4 outers than most players see in a year. The stats go much more in depth but I want to keep this basic. A few days ago I busted out of 2 tournaments that were nearing the bubble almost simultaneously when my AA and KK were rivered by straights to hands that had no business getting involved in play. And one of them was less than 2% to win post-flop. Hours ago I was one of 67 remaining players (of 727) and 3-bet shoved with JJ on the button, only to get called by an opponent (who had only double my stack) with 78s. Naturally he turned and rivered a straight to knock me out. Has anyone else had long stretches of bad luck that just wouldn't seem to end? It seems to get more ridiculous by the day and I'm just wondering if extended periods like this are common among regular players.
  • 8 replies
    • Rihard4a
      Rihard4a
      Gold
      Pretty common. Nowadays nothing surprises me and I react to everything in the same manner. As long you make the best decisions results don't matter.
    • metza
      metza
      Bronze
      What I've found makes it easier is having a specific gameplay related goal that you are working towards.

Whenever my goal for the session is to win money (usually always when close to moving up limits) I am much more emotionally susceptible to variance, because I see the beats as directly f***ing with my goals.