Plan B

• LordHorius
      LordHorius
      Bronze
      I am a postgraduate student in mathematics. I played some poker during undergraduate degree and wanted to go professional (until I started to like mathematics). Poker was my back up plan in case mathematics does not work out. I didn't play poker seriously for about 4 years. Considering a tough situation on job market for geometrists I decided to remember some poker. I am beginning from the very bottom with BSS NL2 and intend to play about 4 hours a week. PhD is going to take about 2 more years so it is plenty of time to get poker skills back in shape.

I have recently enlisted for teaching program main part of which is reflecting on the tutoring experience through blog. If I am writing on teaching I might as well write on mathematics and poker and probably some other things. I heard writing blog helps with self-discipline, lets see how it works out :)
  • 25 replies
    • Ramble
      Ramble
      Bronze
      Hi LordHorius,

I look forward to reading more in your blog. I think it's great that you found an area of study that you really enjoy - it will make a big difference in your life if you are able to do something you love. I started a blog a little over a year ago and it has been a great motivator for me to keep working on my game - much more fun to write about learning and success!

Have you added yourself to the PokerStrategy.com member map yet?

Good luck at the tables!
    • LordHorius
      LordHorius
      Bronze
      Got a mild minus yesterday and a mild plus today (WTS 13% W$SD% 33% speaks for itself). Plenty of hand to analyze but caught cold and the closer it is to evening the harder it is to think.

Monthly goals:
      1)Finally make that personal webpage
      2)Finish research proposals for conference.
      3)Finish the details on the paper. And write it however chaotically but in tex.
      4)Get silver status and gain access to analysis section of forum.
    • LordHorius
      LordHorius