The road to an epic 2015

• bogstratos
      bogstratos
      Bronze
      Hello everyone! This is a later edited post, the original opening post is available in a spoiler below.

2014 has been a good year for me. I managed to get out of a situation that was ruining all the fun in life for me, going to a uni where I studied what they call “Computer Science” (but it’s more like engineering + computer science). It was just soul draining to have to go there 7h/day on average during the week and to work on homework and projects the rest of the time, with very little time for poker, going out with friends or other hobbies. I had little to nothing in common with the students at that faculty and there were quite a few profs there that made me want to rip my hair out. I really couldn’t handle 4 years of that only to get a degree and some IT knowledge, with a lot of other stuff that I don’t really enjoy (maths+physics), tho they can be useful if you want to become a sick programmer. I quit uni at the end of the 2nd semester of my first year, around April-May. I spent some time wondering about what my future should be and I thought that giving poker another serious go while learning to program and getting other useful life skills on the side is the way to go for me.

In May I started a coaching deal with someone I met through a Skype group, who has had really good results at NL50-200, and he helped me move up to taking shots at NL25. But then July came and we felt like we can’t go any further together, since things seemed to not click anymore for me when he tried to coach me. I then withdrew and spent most of my BR during the summer (like I always did xD ) and was left with about $150.