Is Zoom poker worth it for begginers?

• ilostmysoul
      ilostmysoul
      Bronze
      Deposited 10€ into PokerStars that came from a PaySafe sale, and I didn't want to win money off them, only to use them to get a basic sense of the basic concepts (like pot odds) before actually depositing. As far as the learning goes, I now have a good grip on pot odds and comparing them to the chances of winning (effective odds or implied odds or any odds that require me to predict future bets and then sum them up are way trickier tho).

Anyways I started playing for 1-1:30 hour on a single table, folding 90% of the hands. Averaging 1-3€ for hour on good days, assuming someone was dumb enough to go all-in when I had the best hand. If everyone played tight, I would average .2€ if I was lucky, -.5€ on a normal day, since I got mostly hands like 68, 57, A3o, 8To, and the like. Got all my bankroll up to 20€ then after a streak of dumb plays it went down to $1. Now I decided to give Zoom a go and it seems SO MUCH EASIER. Just got 2€ playing Zoom for 15 minutes. Not averaging 5 hands per hour anymore.
      Also much easier to train stuff like odds, simply because you are playing way more hands.

On the other hand, no readings on the opponents, since they dissapear hand after hand. Also, the blind system is not very reliable. I had to pay blinds for 4 or 5 hands in a row, and then got a free entry for a couple of times. Not to mention thinking is reduced. Most of the times I have to force myself into remembering I am here to train concepts, not exactly to win money. However most of the times I play Zoom by instinct. It's not really a type of game that encourages you to sit down and think about your opponents and what can happen next.
      So, thoughts? Do the benefits outweight the negatives? Should I stick to normal games?
  • 4 replies
    • mbml
      mbml
      Black
      you get higher volume