How do you deal with check-callers on NL2 Zoom?

• ilostmysoul
      I recently started studying my sessions and I found I lost most of my money in two situations:
      1. Chasing bad odds to the very end, even when implied odds are bad (most of the times OESD or 4-card flushes, and sometimes even gutshots for some reason).
      2. Getting a good hand, usually against 1 or 2 players, being last to act, and having him check-calling me to the end.

This hand from my very last session is a good example of what I mean.
      Hand converted with online hand converter:

Play hand

$0.01/$0.02 No-Limit Hold'em (6 handed)

Known players:
      BB (Hero):

Preflop: Hero is BB with 9, Q.
      2 folds, CO raises to $0.04, 2 folds, Hero calls $0.02.

Flop: ($0.09) Q, 3, J (2 players)
      Hero bets $0.10, CO calls $0.10.

Turn: ($0.29) A (2 players)
      Hero bets $0.12, CO calls $0.12.

River: ($0.53) 4 (2 players)
      Hero bets $0.16, CO calls $0.16.

Final Pot: $0.85.
      Results follow:

Hero shows a pair of queens(9 Q).
      CO shows two pairs, queens and jacks(Q J).

CO wins with two pairs, queens and jacks(Q J).

I learned my lesson from a while back and have ever since stopped betting for value that much (I would bet 1/2 or 1/3 of the pot with an hand like this, so by the end I would lose too much money to keep this up).
      But what am I supposed to do in this situation? I mean I can't not bet, can I? It's not like I'm bluffing, I have top pair with a medium-sized kicker. If he had raised me just once I'd probably throw the hand away.
      And also, had I been in first position, most likely this would happen as well. I would bet and he would call to the end.

I read somewhere (can't recall where exactly) that when someone calls you, you should assume they have you beat. Is this a good way of thinking? But then I would check in the Turn, he would bet, and I would fold. This would happen even if he had KJ or Qx, being x = low kicker, like 3 or 4.