Online poker and loneliness

• Fr0z3nByt3
      Fr0z3nByt3
      Bronze
      Hi there! I'm a professional online poker player and I have no life. By that I mean no friends, I live alone, I see my father a few times per month and I videochat with my mom who lives in a different country. I'm not in school anymore and I don't do anything besides playing poker and watching movies and tv series. I've had some problems with depression in the past and I feel it's coming back and also I have some kind of social anxiety so I can't go to the gym or do other stuff normal people do. I will talk to a psychologist about it thou and work it out but I was wondering if any of you have or have had the same problem and what you did/do to combat the loneliness...
  • 6 replies
    • pyure
      pyure
      Bronze
      Hey man, know how you feel, I've been suffering with social anxiety and depression for years now. Best advise I have is to go see your doctor as soon as possible, they should help sort you out with a therapist for a course of cognitive behavioural therapy and may also prescribe sedatives and anti depressants. Try to cut back on alcohol, caffeine and nicotine intake, establish a regular sleep cycle and exercise as much as possible, just a half hour walk every day or something.
      Hope you start feeling better soon :)
    • metza
      metza
      Bronze
      You could try joining a group for something you have an interest in, play some live pub poker, or even rent a desk at a shared office/studio and play poker there while getting to know the other people there.
    • sherriffatman
      sherriffatman
      Bronze
      if this is a genuine request and not some sort of stupid 'joke' post, then maybe you could start by making more 'friends' on here (request sent btw) and being more active in the forum etc.