No quitting this time

• GrimCrom
      GrimCrom
      Bronze
      I've come back to poker and lost motivation so many times since those golden days of mid 2000's, making free money from freerolls. Here's how it goes: I make a smallish deposit at a poker site. First play some tournaments for recreation, then realize it's quite difficult to always stay focused for the whole duration. Neither do I have the bankroll to multi-table enough. Next I go for sit' n' go's, but realize that variance is going to kill me. Lastly I return to multi-tabling 6-max, beat it from nl-5 to nl-20. Then I hit a tiny downswing of 5-10 bins, either lose confidence or motivation, cash out and take interest in something else completely.

But this time is different. Maybe because I immediately got hit by variance after I started playing and now feel like I'm really being challenged. Maybe it's the motivation from the financial difficulties I'm in. I just had the worst 6 months of my life, maybe this new year has helped me somehow to begin recovering from my lifelong depression (,which going bankrupt would uncover, and is what I truly fear). Regardless, thousands of hands of no action, bad beats and tough calls only make me want to beat these limits faster and harder.

During my stints in poker I have studied the game and changed the way I play. I am an extremely fast learner, which is probably why I lack all motivation. Once I reach good enough or above average, I'm usually done or start fucking around. It's all because of impossible level of self-expectation, which I recognize but am unable to change since it's the way I've always felt about myself, and it's the way this world makes me feel.