Poker rookie presents himself

• ruastinraata
      ruastinraata
      Bronze
      Hello all fellow Pokerstrategists!

I am a newly started poker rookie from Finland. Thanks for your excellent poker site, I have gone through all your available articles concerning general and Texas hold'em no limit poker strategy. Thank you also for helpful and friendly discussion here in the forum.

Ever before during my life of 25 years, I have not been very keen on gambling or card games, but I am a huge fan of board games and lately I was lacking seriously board gaming company and I then thought that online poker has a lot of players, so why not to give it a try? At first, I tried to play some poker without real money with my mobile phone, but I soon realized that without stakes the game is just a lottery where very few care about the result. Not good.

I hesitated a bit to start playing for real money, because I was sure that I would be a quite bad player. So I started my journey to poker by reading two books: David Sklansky's Theory of Poker (the contents of which I understood only little if anything) and Phil Gordon's Little Green Book (which was easy to read and digest). I also searched for some other information and found your excellent site about almost anything concerning poker. I also found out that in the best online poker rooms the starting is free: you'll receive some kind of a starting bonus so I reasoned that if I lose a poker room's money in my way to learn the game I don't waste anything my own other than time. And whereas playing the game is supposed to be fun, I WANT to spend/waste my time on it.