Stuck in the middle in MTTs

• Valsomething
      Valsomething
      Bronze
      OK folks...help me out here.

I have been playing online poker since 2008 and achieve 16%-19% ITM every year in tournaments (over almost 7,000 games) and between 11%-12% finishes in the top 10% of the field overall. However, despite achieving consistent results, the top 5% finishes and final tables eludes me. Over this time and games, I have only reached the final table 4 times (with field greater than 1,000 players) with my highest being 3rd.

Now, I understand playing more games does not mean I MUST get to the final tables more often - there is a skill element involved with poker not just mathematical distributions. Thus, over the years I have adopted many suggestions made by other players - such as playing a wider range of cards especially if I am in late position and first to act, playing more aggressively with premium hole cards especially when in position and using pot odds to make bets/calls rather than by instinct. I have read countless books and poker strategy materials as well spent a lot of time on forums seeing what others are discussing and how they are playing.

Everything I learnt and applied had their share of successes and failures (the greatest failure being adopting the playing style of Gus Hansen based on his book :f_biggrin: ) but no matter what I do, my ITM results remain the same and my desire for more frequent top finishes still remains beyond my grasp.

As a more specific issue, as many hands from the middle of the tournament onwards tend to gravitate towards going all-in (if I am short stacked) or calling a short stack all-in I find pot odd and position strategies doesn't help that much. There is only really 1 decision pre-flop and leave the rest to the poker gods. I am finding that in most cases no matter what I do, I cannot win. Go into a all-in hand ahead and get suckered or be behind and miss my cards.