Berzerger's battle: resurgence

• Berzerger
      Berzerger
      Bronze
      Hello everyone,

First off, let me introduce myself. I'm Berzerger, 19 years old, I live and study in Belgium, but I was born in Russia. I speak Dutch, Russian and English fluently, but I prefer the English PS community to keep my forum visits coherent. I started playing poker less than a year ago, when it got popular in this country. Here's how it started: my friends bought a set of chips and invited me to come over and play with them for fun. I agreed, and after they explained the rules to me, we started to play. It was a lot of fun, and though the amount of my chips over time reminded a rollercoaster ride, I enjoyed the game and kept looking forward to the next time we played. After about two months, my friends started playing poker less frequently, and I thought it was a shame since I came to like poker.

At that point in time, I didn't even realize poker was played online for money on a daily basis, so that would have been the end of my poker career if it wasn't for a LAN party I went to where they organized a poker tourney. I thought it would be fun to participate, especially if there was a prize at stake. It was a small tourney (3 tables, 30 players), but playing against people who I never met just seemed exciting. I was sure they were all much better at the game than me, which was mostly true since back then I thought poker was only about reading your opponent. And it was fun while it lasted, after three orbits I busted. I had trash, and my opponent looked like he was bluffing. I paired my six, so I thought I'd raise him. Even though I was right about him bluffing, he also had a pair of sixes, but with a better kicker, and so I was knocked out.