is SNG play alone profitable?

• RavForenzo
      RavForenzo
      Bronze
      I've tried to grind out the SNG's a couple of times, sticking strictly to the BRM and strategy, and try and play as perfect poker as possible. But still find myself tumbling down or at least sort of just hovering above a small profit.

So my question is, do any guys on here make the kind of genuine profits you tend to see from cash games by just playing SNG's alone? I'm not talking multi tables either, just literally 10 max.

I need some encouragement that it is worth it in the end! I'm not a beginner, so dont need advice, I just wanna hear other peoples experiences with SNG.
  • 19 replies
    • Duane317
      Duane317
      Bronze
      Sometimes it is profitable... most of the time it's not.
      That's just for me of course.

I play $16 9-Player SnGs (turbo) at stars some months ago (now I don't like them anymore). I usually lose $50-$100 a day, but sometimes gain about $300-$400 when I'm lucky.

So... yeah... I don't like SnGs because it is rare that you'll get stable profit. I prefer cash games.
    • Hlynkinn
      Hlynkinn
      Bronze
      yup it's profitable.. It's swingy as hell tho...
    • rjacobs003
      rjacobs003
      Bronze
      I think you need to give it a pretty big sample before evaluating. I'd say play 200 and then have a look at your winrate
    • RavForenzo
      RavForenzo
      Bronze
      i have done mate, ive played around 600 i think, but i have deviated during that time into other things, so not sure what my exact winrate is now cus the money has mixed.