Mental game

• FrozenElf
      FrozenElf
      Silver
      Hello im trying to improve my mental game and following the steps from the mental game of poker im wondering if im doing this correctly?

1 Describe the problem?
      I feel nervous in 3 bet pots

2 Why does it make logical sense that I would react, think or feel that way?
      because I could lose a big pot

3 Why is that logic flawed?
      because I could lose a big pot in any type of pot

4 What is the correct way to handle the situation?
      I cant control weather I win or lose I can only control I can only control how well I play

5 Why is the correction correct?
      as long as I lose less then my opponents ill beat them

if I got this whole thing completely wrong feel free to correct me thanks
  • 6 replies
    • Gothicrow
      Gothicrow
      Gold
      Hi FrozenElf, I'm not an expert in mental game, but curiously I was reading the book today to help me handle myself with some issues.

Once said that, I think that in number 3, your answer is not as good as it could be. First of all, don't think only that you could lose a big pot in any situation, a poker reality is that you are going to loose big pots many times, that's a fact, and something that could help you to answer better that question is reading more about "hate-losing tilt", "risk aversion" (it seems that you fear to lose big when that's something that would happen very often) and learn more about variance. Probably would be useful to read also "fear of a bad run", "fear of mistakes" and also "injustice tilt". Just dig in it could help you to be a better player with some work.

Now, from a technical point of view, working on your game in 3bet pots is going to help you to develop confidence on those spots.

I hope this helps, and congrats because you are working on your mental game!! :f_drink:
    • FrozenElf
      FrozenElf
      Silver
      Hello Gothicrow,