Running Free (A Computer Science student's Diary)

• kerith
      kerith
      Bronze
      Hi :) I'm a completely new player, I just started learning Poker about a week ago, and just got the free money (Titanbet). You can check my intro here. I am in vatation right now, so I can take a stab at NL HE micros and learn as much as possible, to see what I can get out of it (not mnoney of course, but maybe some experience).

I will be following the guides here for NL, and the following BRM:
      • Start at 2NL with the free $7 from Titanbet.
      • Build a BR.
      • That's it xD I honestly don't think I'll get much further. There is a great chance I go bust.

I will play at least 1hr/day when I'm at home, and post the result here.

Any advice would be greatly welcomed.

GL HF :)
  • 8 replies
    • kerith
      kerith
      Bronze
      So... I played today for about 1hr on Titanbet (~100 hands). It was really fun, and I enjoyed having a strategy, and just playing the good hands. There were two problems, however:

• The SideKick did not record any of my hands. This also happened with Stars Play Money and a freerol on titanbet.
      • The titanbet software, for some reason, tried to shut down every 15 minutes or so, by showing a timer ("the progam will close in 30 seconds"). When I was folded it was not a big deal, but one time I was plating a rather large pot (~10BB), and I am completely sure I misplayed because of the annoying message. Has this ever happened to anyone else?

Another bad thing about Titanbet is that there are no 2NL games, the minimum in Spain is 5NL (0.02/0.05), which leaves me with a total of 1.2BIs from the free money, not a great starting BR.

So, Now to the learning. I learned that:
      • 5NL is a beautiful place where most people enter with 1/2 buyins.