The odds of making 'Four of a kind' in Hold'Em?

• clicks
      clicks
      Bronze
      I've only been playing for a some months, and I haven't seen that many. I just started playing Limit at Party Poker yesterday after studying the Fixed Limit Basic/Bronze articles. I've been playing 0.05/0.10. I've played about 3 hours in total and I saw 2 Four of kinds yesterday (in 2 hours) and 4 today (in 1 hour, 2 of them happened literally in the space of 5 hands and within my first 5 hands).

I'm not quite sure what I'm asking here... Is this normal?

Edit: Omg, I'm soo stupid. I'm playing low stakes FL! This game is totally new to me and it's quite obvious villans play pocket pairs all the way to the river! I'm used to them folding when I fire aggressive bets in NL :D Just shows how paranoid I am :rolleyes: Oh well, sorry for making a useless thread and not listening to anyone, although no one actually explained it like this to me. I'm pretty sure this is why I'm seeing so many.
  • 20 replies
    • lennert9
      lennert9
      Bronze
      good old variance, although 4 in 5 hands is a bit outrageous.

I don't really know the odds but I believe it's something like 1 in every 3000 hands?
    • Backcushion
      Backcushion
      Bronze
      Originally posted by clicks
      I've only been playing for a some months, and I haven't seen that many. I just started playing Limit at Party Poker yesterday after studying the Fixed Limit Basic/Bronze articles. I've been playing 0.05/0.10. I've played about 3 hours in total and I saw 2 Four of kinds yesterday (in 2 hours) and 4 today (in 1 hour, 2 of them happened literally in the space of 5 hands and within my first 5 hands).

I'm not quite sure what I'm asking here... Is this normal?
      Anything can happens in poker,I for example got 4 four of a kinds one day and 2 of them in 30mins.
    • zhorzh
      zhorzh
      Bronze
      If you play every pocket pair to showdown, the chances increase dramatically :D
    • Dragar