My First Blog! Poker, my journey from zero, through zero, to still zero

• lukehudd
      lukehudd
      Basic
      Hi my name is Luke I started playing Poker in 2007 after watching Poker After Dark and thinking how cool these Poker players are and thinking wow, can you actually make a living out of playing poker. It was this year when I decided it was time and so I deposited $50 and set off on my journey to becoming a “Poker Pro”. Little did I know, how difficult this journey was going to be and that 8 years down the line I would still be considered a beginner who knows very little about the game.

After playing fun tournaments with friends and dabbling with play money on PokerStars I decided I owned this game and I deposited $50.

A yo yo rollercoasted ride ensued and I played in games which where way beyond the limit that my bankroll should of dictated and with every loss I chased and chased. Sometimes I got it back, but more often than not I didn’t and it was only a couple days before I was well and truly bust.

At this point, with no real job, a poor income and pressure from my parents to get on in life I decided that pursuing Poker at this time was not viable and I decided to put it to one side. Work, life and University took over and Poker was nothing more than a distance dream.

I studied Civil Engineering at what is now known as Leeds Beckett University in England, West Yorkshire. I approached my studies in the same way I approached Poker, I was young and naïve and believed that just turning up and doing the bare minimum would be enough. I struggled through University but somehow came out of the other end and pursued a Career as a Highway Engineer.

I came back to Poker in 2010 in much the same way as I began, I figured the best way to learn was to jump in at the deep end and I would somehow “pick it up” along the way. 2010 was another rollercoaster ride which inevitably ended up in me busting out and leaving Poker for another 2 years.