[NL2-NL10] AK at BU

    • bordzter
      bordzter
      Bronze
      Joined: 03.08.2008 Posts: 143
      Was thinking hard when CO made the all-in but I am already committed plus i figure if i go bust i bust at AK :D


      Known players:
      Position:
      Stack
      MP1:
      $6.22
      CO:
      $18.95
      Hero:
      $1.90

      0.05/0.1 No-Limit Hold'em (7 handed)
      Hand recorder used for this poker hand: PokerStrategy Elephant 0.65 by www.pokerstrategy.com.

      Preflop: Hero is BU with A:heart: , K:heart:
      MP1 calls $0.10, 2 folds, CO calls $0.10, Hero raises to $0.60, 2 folds, MP1 calls $0.50, CO calls $0.50.

      Flop: ($1.95) 3:heart: , T:diamond: , 4:diamond: (3 players)
      MP1 checks, CO bets $1.40, Hero calls $1.30 (All-In), MP1 folds.

      Turn: ($4.65) 9:spade:
      River: ($4.65) 7:diamond: (2 players)


      Final Pot: $4.65

      Results follow (highlight to see):
      Hero shows high card ace with king kicker (Ah Kh)
      CO shows high card ace with ten kicker (2h Ad)

      Hero wins with high card ace with king kicker (Ah Kh)
  • 4 replies
    • Gerv
      Gerv
      Bronze
      Joined: 07.05.2008 Posts: 17,678
      Hello Bordzter,

      could you remove the results next time you post a sample hand? Thank you.

      As played, you do not know what Mp1 will do so therefore I let this one go because basic SSS says that whenever you are 1) in a multiway pot and 2) did not hit something or have like QQ/JJ on a Ace board or King board , a SSS player should give up his hand.

      Therefore I play check/fold here on the Flop.

      - Gerv
    • Davinci5
      Davinci5
      Bronze
      Joined: 10.04.2008 Posts: 63
      But SSS also says that if the pot is more than twice your stack you should go in anyway. Or doens't that apply when somebody else bets?
    • Gerv
      Gerv
      Bronze
      Joined: 07.05.2008 Posts: 17,678
      Originally posted by Davinci5
      But SSS also says that if the pot is more than twice your stack you should go in anyway. Or doens't that apply when somebody else bets?
      When it is checked up to you, you have to apply this rules.

      If someone bets in front of you, it's a whole different story
    • burek2000
      burek2000
      Bronze
      Joined: 16.11.2007 Posts: 3,105
      Originally posted by Gerv
      Originally posted by Davinci5
      But SSS also says that if the pot is more than twice your stack you should go in anyway. Or doens't that apply when somebody else bets?
      When it is checked up to you, you have to apply this rules.

      If someone bets in front of you, it's a whole different story
      Um, I think according to the articles...

      "You push all-in in any case, no matter what your opponents do."

      ...this applies to the fact you are the preflop aggressor and you have less then half the pot left in your stack.

      Also in most cases when this happens you are pot commited and have too good odds with all the hands you raised preflop imo.