This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

How about this time? - Aim for the stars, end up in a tree

• nickvald
      nickvald
      Bronze
      Hello fellow humans!
      I have been playing poker sporadically for a few years, playing half a year/not playing for a year.

I started playing about five years ago and did not particularly well, though eager to learn (which I didn't). Two on and offs later i did pretty well ending up playing nl10 regularly. As always, a time came when sets got beat by higher sets, bluffs never worked and common sense seemed to be a scarce commodity. I ended up loosing almost my whole bankroll.

Last time I tried the game of poker I did better! Taking shots at nl25 which started promising. But again, when the dark times of variance (which wasn't, I was just playing really bad!) my bankroll was down at 30 bucks......

At the moment I'm home quite a lot, taking care of our puppy and studying. So I thought "maybe I can play some poker aswell". So with 30 bucks on my account, and a few more videos watched here on pokerstrategy I was fit for fight! :f_drink:

What have I learned from last time?
      I have noticed that I had some tremendous leaks!
      - I wasn't enough aware of position
      - I couldn't tell a good board vs a bad board for c-beting
      - I couldn't fold river vs a raise

There are of course more leaks in my game but these are the biggest ones! After I realised these and adjusting my game I immediately started making profit :truestory:

Why am I making this blog?
      Well hopefully this will keep me motivated and not making any stupid things along the way.

:spade: :spade: :spade: :spade:

So coming down to goals and stuff..

Bankroll management

30$ -> 100$ nl2
      100$ -> 200$ nl5
      200$ -> 600$ nl10 (I will move down if I loose 5BI)