A Micro-Stakes grinder's blog

• flyingspadespoker
      flyingspadespoker
      Basic
      Personal

My name is Jay and I live in The Philippines. I'm 28 years old and been married for 8 years with two kids. I'm a call center agent and you will see me playing DOTA2 in my free time. I'm also a vaper, just quit smoking two months ago.

Poker History

Been playing poker for probably 9 years. My first 6 years were casually playing live. Switched online, playing SNGs, from 45 to 6-man. Was grinding from the lowest stakes and found a little success but wasn't disciplined enough to push through. Started playing FR CG 2.5 years ago maybe. Was beating the game up to NL5. From then til now, that became my bread and butter in online poker. My approach was fairly robotic, normally 24 table while having a set of rules to play against certain players and hands. I have a decent WR 7-8 at NL2 and 4-6 at NL5, with a fairly large sample. I found out that my robotic way of playing is only good up til NL5, I got crushed at NL10, implementing the same style, though it's only for a small sample(around 30k), from then didn't have the chance to try it again.

My Goals

As everyone else, my goal is to move up and be a full time grinder. Whether what game format, I honestly still don't know. I do enjoy playing 6-Max Hypers and Spin n Go. A month ago, I even bought a video pack for 6-Max Hypers. My plan back then was to get my BR from CG and make the transition once I have it. For now, I want to focus on playing CG and will put all my attention at the said format. I'm currently playing with small BR and have to do several cashouts before I can even start moving up(personal expenses). I also decided to start working on my game if I want to past NL10. I'm planning on putting my questions here and some hands. Will be updating probably once or twice a week. This blog is to motivate my self and just to keep track of my progress as well..

I think that's it for now..
  • 6 replies