Hello

• LeliannaLee
      LeliannaLee
      Basic
      Hi everyone :f_biggrin:

I'm Lelianna and I'm new to poker. I've been playing on Pokerstars for about a month now and not doing too good. I like to play tournaments but I'm getting disheartened by the games on Pokerstars because I'm forever getting knocked out with the best hand. :f_cry:

My brother, Rob, tells me that I must be doing something right if I'm always being knocked out when favourite. He says it shows I'm playing good poker. However, when you keep being knocked out and watch your bankroll dwindle it makes you feel like you're not playing good poker. Some have said to me to stay away from the big stacks but how can you do that when you raise with AKs, get called by the big stack, flop an ace and a flush draw, bet and get raised by the big stack who shows you AQ and hits a Q on the river. I've only just started yet I feel like giving up already. :f_cry:

Anyway, enough sob stories....hi to everyone :f_biggrin:
  • 3 replies
    • Lazza61
      Lazza61
      Headadmin
      Headadmin
      Hey Leilanna,

Welcome to PokerStrategy.com :welcome:

Originally posted by LeliannaLee

My brother, Rob, tells me that I must be doing something right if I'm always being knocked out when favourite. He says it shows I'm playing good poker.

:f_biggrin:
      Make sure you keep listening to your brother. He is right. There is a nasty little thing in poker called variance. Poker players have a love/hate relationship with variance. There is good variance where you always hit your cards and even if you don't hit, villain misses too. Then there is bad variance. :facepalm:

Bad variance is where your AA gets cracked by random rags, your huge straight and flush draw combos always miss and of course, villain always hits his.