Starting out

• dredgos
      dredgos
      Bronze
      Hello everyone

I'm a relative newbie to this world so I just hope people could set me up on my journey will a solid start! I like playing MTT tournaments but I also don't always have time to play them so I want to learn how to play cash games too.

My plan will be to play NL2 when I don't have a long session and then play in a tournament when I have more time such as weekends. I have Asabans MTT thread which has been a godsend for learning and I'm using the free course here for cash games NLHE. I'm probably only able to commit between 5-10 hours per week to poker of which I want to split up roughly 1/4 of my time learning (reading/watching streams or vids) and 3/4 playing to put into practice what I have learnt.

Just wondered if anyone had any other excellent free resources?
      I see also there's a course here that requires a status - would that be a worthwhile investment?
      Would a coach be a good investment to give me guidance on starting out correctly?
      Does anyone have any other recommended resources for pretty new players (even if they aren't free)?
  • 8 replies
    • la55i
      la55i
      Pokerstrategy has awesome content. I suggest you start reading strategy articles and watching videos. There are some beginner courses that does not require a status.
      Get free starting capital from pokerstrategy and start playing, that way you will get better status here. You can also buy one but I don't think it is necessary for you just yet. Materials above silver status are quite difficult to understand for beginners. Coachings are great but expensive so I think it is better to get a good understanding of the very basics before hiring a coach :)
    • dredgos
      dredgos
      Bronze