Hello everybody from a newbie

• msp3101
      msp3101
      Silver
      Just recently joined - shame I didn't find out about PokerStrategy before grrrr....:(

Some great educational material for beginners I've found.

I've chosen Ladbrokes to receive my free starting capital.....what a great site that appears to be. I signed up and without any deposit they gave me €10 in cash and 5 x €2 tourney tokens. I've started on the 1/2 penny tables.

I've been living in Ireland for 10 years now but born and bred in London.

I graduated as a mature student just over a year ago with an Honours degree in Business.

I've been working part-time since as an early morning cleaner and I'm on the wrong side of 50.

Since finishing college I've passed on the business study books and started to study some of the old and new poker story/strategy books.

I'm no good on the 'PlayStation' as my young children advise so I'm going to try my luck at the micro stake tables.

:f_drink:
  • 21 replies
    • Harrier88
      Harrier88
      Bronze
      Hi msp3101, welcome to Pokerstrategy!

We're glad to have you here. What kind of formats and limits do you like to play? We should have plenty of material for you over here in any case, maybe I can give you some recommendations.

I assume you have some knowledge of poker already from the strategy books you read. Do you also have some experience from live or online play already?

Hope to see you around.
    • msp3101
      msp3101
      Silver
      Hi Harrier 88,

Thanks for the welcome.

I like to play micro fixed/pot/no limit both 6 & 9 max. My first poker book that helped me was 'Winning low limit hold'em' by Lee Jones which is based for fixed limit.

I will be grateful for any recommendations.

I played mainly live 'pub' games without much knowledge from 2006-08 mainly for social interaction purposes.

I use to play online at Zynga poker on Facebook.