The Frog and the Willow

• Harrier88
      Harrier88
      Bronze
      Hello everyone,

This is Harrier88. I've been playing online poker since April 2012, actively posting in the forum since late 2013, blogging since early 2014, and moderating the EN community since August the same year.

When I started my old blog, which possibly had an equally weird name, I was in a different situation than today. I had finished my bachelor's thesis just a few months ago, and all that stood between me and my B.A. degree was a mandatory internship and a written report on it. Basically, I was a student who didn't need to do any studying, so it was the ideal situation to take a serious shot at this online poker gig that I was so passionate about. I had loads of free time and not many responsibilities besides making a token effort applying for internship positions. What better time could there be to see how far I could go in my attempt to get a steady income through poker?

It's now two years later, I finished my degree in the meantime, and I already decided long ago that poker will not be the way I will make my living. Even back in 2014, I eventually found my real-life responsibilities slowly catching up with me, and the long and bumpy road of online poker suddenly didn't seem like such a great option anymore. Nevertheless, I kept playing, albeit in a less serious and organized manner, and tried to make the most of it. It wasn't until a few months ago when I started to feel that poker lost its appeal to me and I ended up throwing in the towel for the time being.

I've had a decently sized break now, and after a few casual sessions, I decided that it's time to come back to this cute little card game we all love to hate. There won't be any serious, determined grindfests like back then anymore, but maybe, that's for the better. It doesn't mean that I have to turn my back on this game entirely, though.