Introducing myself

• Gringo1970
      Gringo1970
      Bronze
      Im an American who has spent the better part of the last 20 years in Brasil. I really enjoy NLHE, however I know I still have a long ways to go before I will become what I would consider, GOOD. I started playing about several years ago when PokerStars was still legal in the states......(I actually received a check in the mail for like 11 dollars when they closed down). My best day, by far, was taking 2nd place in a 5.50 MTT with 7000 people in it. I took home like 7400 dollars. But when I checked my stats on Sharkscope afterwards, it still showed that I was in the negative........And Ive never done it again. I remember shtting out several times before making the last table. After a while, I lost interest and started doing other things.

Now, 15 or so years later, I find myself starting to play the Freerolls more often, and reading everything I can get my hands on with regards to getting better. I hope to receive my bonus in the next few days, and my immediate goal is to make some realistic goals. I think I could be a good player. Today I know I make lots of mistakes. THe biggest one I believe is that when i believe someone is bluffing based on whatever reasoning, I make the call, and then see just how badly beaten I am.
  • 3 replies
    • metalmonkey80
      metalmonkey80
      Hello Gringo1970,

Welcome to PokerStrategy.com :f_drink:

Nice to read that you are looking to try again at poker. From what I have read you have the ability to go far in large field tournaments.
      Thankfully you are able to play in Brazil still :f_thumbsup: Hopefully one day The US will come back to the international online poker community!
      Freerolls are one of my favorite tournaments to play. Nothing better than money for nothing and your chips for free :f_thumbsup:
      At the moment you are a basic member. Have you looked at our free money offers yet?