Mathematics in poker

• Festfingre
      Festfingre
      Silver
      Hey guys

I want to get a grasp on why the ranges are what they are, how the tweak of one range affects another, and eventually the optimal range for my preferred playstyle. I have a degree in electrical engineering where i aced all my math classes including probabilty and statistics, but i forget so much so fast.
      Still i feel i could teach myself to become adept in poker math to get myself even more interested and also gain an edge.

Do anybody play with math in poker or do you stick to software and/or tables etc. for that part?
      If anybody have some good sources on where to learn id be appreciative.

Here's the first example i'm trying to work with:

Hero is MP and has AQo
      Villain raises 3bb from UTG with assumed raise range: 66+, A9s+, KTs+, QTs+, JTs, ATo+, KJo+ (12.82%)

What is most profitable in the long run, and what variables affects EV the most, and how?
      Should hero 3bet, call, or fold?
      How does his stats affect my decision?

I want to be able to answer these questions myself, but i could use some pointers as to where i begin.

Thanks for any answer
  • 7 replies
    • la55i
      la55i
      Hi Festfingre,

With AQo you would have over 50% equity against that UTG range. That hand is too strong to be folded, so it leaves call or 3bet.
      Usually we don't want to 3bet that much vs tight UTG range. 3betting is still usually very profitable since ppl at the micros fold too much vs 3bets. Also by 3betting you avoid being squeezed. You are in position and your hand has blockers. So it is decent 3bet hand.

As a standard I would 3bet KK+ as value and weaker hands like AJo,KQo and ATs I would 3bet as a bluff (MPvUTG) and then I play mixed strategy with other big aces and KQs (meaning that I mix 50/50 calls and 3bets).