Becoming Tiltfree - The Road To Mental Peak Performance

• neelix
      neelix
      Bronze
      Hello fellow Grinders,

My name is Steffen and I'm a Mental Game Coach for Poker Players.

In this blog, I want to share experiences/information/research that help poker players to be at their best possible Mental Game.

Most players would agree that their Mental Game has a big impact on the way they perform at the table - but the majority doesn't really know how to systematically build up a strong Mind.

Well, I want to change that.

I've played Poker for over 6 years myself and can tell from first-hand experience how frustrating it can be not to able to translate one's technical poker skills into results (usually in the form of $$).

Anyhow, I'm a Counseling Psychologist and Performance Coach by profession and I've helped Poker Pros deal better with Tilt, Improve Focus, Reduce Anxiety, and Increase Volume for a while now and I want to share the things that work with a wider audience.

Hope you're game!

P.S. in my first article, I'm putting forth a pretty controversial theory about tilt. You should check it out!

- Steffen
  • 4 replies
    • neelix
      neelix
      Bronze
      And here's the first piece....

What if Tilt didn't exist?

Admittedly, this is a rather odd question, isn't it? But before you dismiss it entirely, I want you to bear with me here for a second. Just for the sake of this argument: what do you think your poker game would look like if Tilt really didn't exist?

And...who actually came up with the concept of tilt?

Now, I'm not going to argue that tilt doesn't exist, don't worry. Yet, my experience in working with poker players has shown me that "tilt" can be a very misunderstood concept. And one that does not necessarily help us play our best poker. At the end of this post, I have compiled some strategies that will help you deal more effectively with tilt, but before I expand on this, let's first ask ourselves what tilt actually means.