My Poker Story

• DTCC1
      DTCC1
      Bronze
      I'm creating this thread at the end of my first session, I will update it with some more info later but I've put the basics in before I head off to sleep.

So, I've been playing online poker on and off for a few years. I started out with the $50 free from pokerstrategy some 5? years ago. From this I built up to $250 at the end of last year and withdrew half of it. Since then I haven't played at all. I estimate my lifetime hands to be around 300k but I don't have my old databases to check. I mostly play for fun as and where I can and would like to see how far I can take myself while staying profitable.

Over this time I've played mostly NL2 - NL5 with the occasional punt towards NL10-NL25. I played the shortstack strategy FR for some time untill it was made unviable by the 50bb min buyin and have been playing 6max ever since. I've never attempted STT or MTTs as I believe the strategy to be more complex due to uneven stack sizes, BB/stack ratios and therefore a constantly changing optimal play style. The time constraints also don't interest me, I enjoy dropping in and out of cash games as and when I please.

Tonight I decided to give it another go. Picking up where I left off with my $125 bankroll I started with NL2 as I always do. This is to ensure I am playing profitably and I will slowly increase my limits. I try to play 10k+ hands as a minimum before moving up and stick within my bankroll.

My first session went reasonably well:

Except for the loosing hands near the end, I don't if my play was good or bad but it felt right at the time with us both being overstacked:

PokerStars Zoom Hand #162797856508: Hold'em No Limit ($0.01/$0.02) - 2016/12/11 22:20:01 UTC [2016/12/11 17:20:01 ET]
      Table 'Halley' 6-max Seat #1 is the button
      Seat 1: DTCC2 ($3.58 in chips)
      Seat 2: gbpltwrjivfh ($3.92 in chips)
      Seat 3: UlianKnows ($1.85 in chips)
      Seat 4: murr71 ($2.20 in chips)