Short Stack Strategy with 40BB

• Ronsedk2016
      Ronsedk2016
      Silver
      Hello all,

I am new to poker and im reading through the strategies etc.

I play on Pokerstars and i want to keep playing there.

My question is, does anyone have experience in playing Short Stack Strategy starting with 40BB? is it profitable? Or do i need to play Mid Stack Strategy?

Thank you for helping me out :-)

Ronni
  • 19 replies
    • la55i
      la55i
      Hi Ronsedk2016,

Unfortunately I don't have much experience in playing short, but luckily we have some articles that tells you about short stack strategy :)
      I would still recommend you to play with 100bb stack. That way you will maximize your profit. It also gives you more room to maneuver at the table. Almost all of the coachings and strategies you will see here are based on the thought that you are playing with full stack.
      Basically only reasons I think of why playing short would be better are 1) you don't have a proper bankroll 2) you don't yet feel comfortable on your limit.

Regards,
      la55i
    • IvicaIliev77
      IvicaIliev77
      Bronze
      Mid stack strategy is most underrated strategy still in CG.
      You can have much higher win rate because most CG players won't know how to adjust their 4 bet ranges vs your 3 bet nai ranges , and 3 bet nai pots play with different pot to stack ratio post flop.
      If you can find sites where you can use MSS I would say go for it. There are strategy articles about it. Read SS strategy, take CREV and do the ranges calculations and then work on post flop for 40bb effective.
      GL!
    • Ronsedk2016
      Ronsedk2016
      Silver
      Thank you for your good replies :-)

la55i, do you have an idea of the BB/100 profits on the BSS? I mean, what should be realistic to reach on the micro and low stakes tables?

IvicaIliev77, do you play MSS yourself? in case, what is your BB/100 profits?

Pokerstars is a good place to play MSS i would think.......