Endgame

• AzUdet
      AzUdet
      Bronze
      Hey,

I started playing recently after reading through the available articles regarding sng here on the site.

Now I have the pure basics down I think but there is one part of the game I need to put some serious work in. And thats the "in the money" part.

I get into the money in ~40% of the tournaments I play (single and multitable). But I was only able to win 1 or 2 of them. Now I read it is about putting your head into it but then again I realize that the way heads-up bit is played completely differs from the game that was played until that point.

Well, as the only strategy articles regarding this are to be found in the silver / gold area I would really love to get a tip or 2 here from the guys that know what they are doing. :)
  • 6 replies
    • NickParkes
      NickParkes
      Bronze
      Hi AzUdet

Playing ITM depends a lot on the opponents as well as knowing how well your hand is doing against various ranges...

My advice is download the ICM trainer and set it to 2/3 players and practice... for heads up I personally use the nash equilibrium charts... google it and you'll find it...

Good luck...
    • radyan111
      radyan111
      Bronze
      I'm not an expert, but maybe you should think about the way you enter the ITM stage of a tournament. Maybe you play too tight on the bubble and survive it but are not in the best available postition to win? That's just a suggestion of one possibility.
    • AzUdet
      AzUdet
      Bronze
      To be honest I realized I was playing stupidly.

I wasn't sticking to the strategy and that was what made it hard for me. I mean of course you can't always push and fold according to charts. But then again when I stick to it rather tightly I get ITM and maybe even more.

:)
    • LuborC
      LuborC
      Bronze
      So you are doing better now? Maybe you should update your blog then.. ;)
    • AzUdet
      AzUdet
      Bronze
      Been there, done that. ^^