ICM Trainer Light/ push fold charts

• Tim64
      Tim64
      Black
      Hi,

I'm just getting started with SnGs. I have found a number of instances where the ICM Trainer light and the Push or Fold charts don't seem to give the same answer. Is this:

a. because the charts are only an approximation and don't always work at certain stack levels;
      b. because I'm not using the charts properly;
      c. because the light trainer is simplified; or
      d. some other reason :)

Thanks,
      T6
  • 7 replies
    • LuborC
      LuborC
      Bronze
      That's becuase the charts are not based on the ICM. Or if they are the model is changed a lot.
      I don't like the charts beacuse they ignore one factor which is at least as important as your cards, position and stack size. It's the stacksizes of your opponents. If you don't take those inot consideration on the bubble you can't make a long term profit, IMO.
      My suggestion is to download the ICM Trainer (the full version) and start pracitcing with it so that you can leave the charts behind as soon as you possible. You should aim for at least 95% correct answes over every set of 100 hands. If you can reach this then your winnings should be much better than with the charts..
    • Tim64
      Tim64
      Black
      Lubor,

Thanks; very helpful. I thought the mismatch had something to do with the opponent's blinds :)

I'll start working with the ICM Trainer soon. However, could you tell me where is explained the principles for deciding what to do? Otherwise I will just be guessing at the answers...

Also, do you think it is ok to start playing SnGs before I can achieve you suggestion of 95%?

Thanks again.
    • LuborC
      LuborC
      Bronze