[NL2-NL10] Nl10 Fr (Sss) Aa

• wowadvisor
      wowadvisor
      Bronze
      Hi all,

Im a total beginner and I just found this forum. I hope you can tell me where I went wrong with this hand.

Known players:
      Position:
      Stack
      SB:
      $8.14
      BB:
      $5.32
      UTG:
      $2.15
      Hero:
      $1.75
      MP1:
      $8.33
      BU:
      $1.85

0.05/0.1 No-Limit Hold'em (10 handed)
      Hand recorder used for this poker hand: PokerStrategy Elephant 0.67 by www.pokerstrategy.com.

Preflop: Hero is UTG1 with A:club: , A:spade:
      UTG calls $0.10, Hero calls $0.10, UTG2 folds, MP1 calls $0.10, 3 folds, BU calls $0.10, SB calls $0.05, BB checks.

Flop: ($0.60) 4:diamond: , Q:spade: , 5:diamond: (6 players)
      SB checks, BB checks, UTG checks, Hero bets $1.65 (All-In), MP1 calls $1.65, BU raises to $1.75 (All-In), 3 folds, MP1 calls $0.10.

Turn: ($5.75) 9:club:
      River: ($5.75) T:diamond: (1 players)

Final Pot: $5.75

Results follow (highlight to see):
      Hero shows a pair of aces (Ac As)
      BU shows a pair of queens (Qd Jh)
      MP1 shows a flush, king high (Kd 3d)

MP1 wins with a flush, king high (Kd 3d)

I called 10 because if I raised I was afraid everybody else would fold. Was this my mistake?
  • 9 replies
    • Tim64
      Tim64
      Black
      I would say yes, that was your mistake. The problem is that by only calling before the flop you don't make it expensive enough for your opponents. This means they are more likely to call you with marginal hands. Hands that could get better depending on what cards are dealt. The other problem is that by only calling (instead of raising) you're not announcing "I've got a good hand". Because of that, when you actually do need people to fold to your raise -- because now you need to prevent people seeing more diamonds -- no one believes you have a real hand because you only 'limped' in.