My therapy begins here

• cleanoutfish
      cleanoutfish
      Basic
      I just became a member of the site tonight. Ironically, I have been playing NL HE, mainly SNG for close to four years now...some cash games.

Funny how things go full circle some time.......the first year I played mostly live and thought the game was a cake walk. As I look back now I realize I truly had not much of an idea of how to play HE other then being a pretty decent poker player (five card).

That first year I won close to 30k in live games/SNG tourneys but I was a fish. Towards the end of that first year I started dabbling around online.

By the end of the second year I lost nearly 20k of my previous years winnings as the fish tactics finally began to catch up with me and the fact that I did not know the game. That was compounded by the fact that I thought I knew the game.

In my third year of thinking I knew how to play the game I dropped a little over 12k online alone; my live games stayed at about even but that was only because I am relatively good at reading people and tells.

Again this is about year four for me and it was not until right after the first of the year when I purchased a couple books and read them. It was also not until then that I began to study pot odds, implied odds, starting hands
      ect.................

My point on the full circle thing is......it was not until today that I finally realized I needed to take a step back, perhaps two.

I am down 2k this year already online and I look forward to getting back to some of the basics. Re-learning some things and learning others I never took the time to go over.

Thanks for listening but this is just kind of my own coming out/speaking out therapy in what I hope is a new beginning for me in the near future.

Cleanoutfish
  • 2 replies
    • williamtywong
      williamtywong
      Bronze
      hey cleanoutfish,

Glad you've found the light. good luck to you, and may there be plenty of fish for all of us to feed on!