Strategies to low limits, rebuy and speed

• Alverine
      Alverine
      Silver
      Hi,

I am just a rookie aquiring some knowledge of MTT. Yesterday there was a 1k garanteed rebuy speed tourney, less than 200 people with $1 bi and i though i will give a shot here. It was my first rebuy tourney. I see a lot of people going all in with nothing on preflop just to double up.

My strategy: I began with 3k, made a rebuy for 0,80 cents to have a 6000 stack. This rebuy was to double up with good hands. I received AKo, one lag player raise to 6BB and I pushed all in, he called. He had 87o, and turned a 7 X(
      Made 2 rebuy to go back with 6k chips. The blinds were pretty high at the moment sice its a speed tourney, i pushed with AQo, AJs, JJ. I was always ahead in my shoves. Here I builded my stack.

The first break comes in and i received the oportunity to make an add-on. 0,80 cents for 4,5k chips. I tought it aint worth, since i had 50k already. After break i just (tried) played the solid tag poker. A lot of guys were shoving with nothing and went dow pretty quick to 90 people (30 payed). In this stage i was only stealing blinds from shortstackers.

The bubble aproaches and people tight up. I was with above average but still in push-fold phase. I didnt received any good cards/spots and i spended the whole bubble just folding. I finished in 23th, with $7 bucks.

My doubts: when do you make rebuys. When do you stop playing and quit the tourney. How to act with crazy maniacs after first break. Is 100buy in brm adequate? I have $125, and it seems pretty dangerous making a lot of rebuys.

Sorry for my english, thank you for your time :D
  • 9 replies
    • timukasr
      timukasr
      Bronze
      Your strategy was pretty ok.

First of all make a rebuy at the beginning, you can push pretty lightly and make loose calls with suited connectors and stuff. No point to rebuy when blinds are pretty high and you can not play proper poker with your stack.