This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

Question about Official SSS Bluff Rule

    • Mackal
      Joined: 28.03.2009 Posts: 1
      In the first NL Post-Flop article it talks about bluffing, specifically it says if you didn't get hit by the flop then :

      "If you raised before the flop and are only facing one opponent, you bet. This is a bluff."

      The rule says you bet, but it doesn't say how much. Should you follow the 2/3 pot rule (or if that amount is over half your stack then go All In)? I guess it doesn't mean to just play the minimum bet, since that wouldn't be much of a bluff since it doesn't indicate strength so most opponents probably wouldn't fold to a minimum bet.

      I'm trying to follow the system exactly as shown in the articles, so hoping to get clarification on exactly what the authors intended for the bluff bet amount.

      Thanks :)
  • 1 reply
    • Jaissica
      Joined: 10.02.2009 Posts: 1,385
      When you bluff-bet (called a continuation bet where you were the PF raiser) you bet as if whatever you held was "made" by the flop.

      So, if you raised AQo and the flop came 7 9 K, you bet as if you had held AK.

      If you raised AKo and the flop came 7 9 Q, you bet as if you held AQ.